Future Doctors of Optometry

The Student Texas Optometric Association (STOA) serves as an open line of communication between the students at the University of Houston College of Optometry, the University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry and the Doctors of Optometry in Texas.

Future in Advocacy

STOA and TOA goals include;

  • working to ensure that each community in Texas has access to the highest quality eye care

  • continually providing optometry students with up-to-date information regarding legislation impacting optometry's scope of practice

  • further strengthening the links between students and optometrists in both academic and clinical settings.

The STOA helps to spread the word about what changes are being made to the Profession of Optometry and what we as students can do to facilitate any changes that may need to be made in the future.

Optometry is a dynamic and challenging profession that we strive to help continue to grow.

STOA Officers


Univeristy of UIW Rosenberg School of Optomery    
President:     Emilee Hurst
Secretary-Treasurer: Asem Hawari
President-Elect: Lauren Pohl
Secretary-Treasurer-Elect: Kenneth Dinh

STOA Officers


Univeristy of Houston College of Optometry              .
President Jack Dolce
Secretary-Treasurer: Ethan Ly
President-Elect: Guy London
Secretary-Treasurer-Elect: Varun Jyothi
2019 Capitol Day Students

Students from both UIWRSO and UHCO join TOA for Optometry Day at the Texas State Capitol!

If you have any questions please contact the TOA at toa@txeyedoctors.com or call 512-707-2020

Update Your Profile

Maintain your profile and ensure you are receiving your TOA and AOA benefits and communications.